A friend of mine recently called to ask f I ever read the book Start Late, Finish Rich by David Bach.  David Bach is also the #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of The Automatic Millionaire and Smart Women Finish Rich.  Start Late, Finish Rich was also highly endorsed by USA Today and The Wallstreet Journal.  David Bach appeared five times on the Oprah Winfrey Shore to share his strategies.  Well, if Oprah finds what he has to say interesting enough to have him back five times (and counting), that is good enough for me!

No, I had NOT read the book but I vaguely recalled buying it many months ago.  Sure enough, there is was, slid right next to Good to Great by Jim Collins, on my bookshelf.  I don’t know why I did not read it before, but since my friend recommending it is a very intelligent man, and a person who has himself made millions, and has already semi retired…I dusted it off and read it this weekend.

Sound advice taken from the read:

  • It is never too late to take hold of your future!  So for those of us over forty, quit worrying and get moving.
  • Spend less, especially on things that don’t really matter.  Okay, I am skipping the Latte factor.
  • Save more by paying yourself first.
  • Make more by either going after the raise you deserve or BETTER YET…Start your own business!  Even the largest of raises can’t compete with the numerous benefits that occur when you start a business that works.  David Bach also dedicates a sizable section on franchising for many good reasons.

And, I love that he points out in this book that the joy can start now- it does not have to wait.  For many of us, just taking the steps toward something exciting regardless of our age brings a sense of joy.  Who cares if you are starting a little late?  How old will you be next year if you don’t go after your dreams?  A year older, right?  We can’t do anything about our age but we can do something about how we decide to live our life.  Ray Kroc was in his fifties when he invested in McDonald’s, Colonel Sanders was well onto his sixties when he sold his famous recipe and started KFC… thousands of people across the country are starting franchises who are in their 40’s, 50’s, 60’s and even 70’s, opting for the joy of owning their own business as a way of life with or without the retirement plan.

Come on…get going!  We all have a lot of good living to do, and that includes YOU!  I liked the book and I recommend it!

